2013 Metro FM Music Awards: The winners

2013-02-25 10:52 Cape Town - The winners of the 2013 Metro FM Music Awards were announced during a gala ceremony on Saturday evening at the International Conference Centre in Durban, reports TVSA.

It was also the first time that the awards ceremony was broadcast live on SABC1, and was hosted by popular Metro FM DJs Azania Mosaka and Robert Marwa, while all behind-the-scenes coverage was done by

The Wild actress Minnie Dlamini and William Lehong.

Sowetan Live reports that some of the biggest winners of the evening included Donald Moatshe and his album Train of Love, Idols SA winner Khaya Mthetwa and the independent record label Jazmee.

The public had the opportunity to vote for their favourites via SMS over the past couple of weeks. Voting lines closed on 17 February.

Here is a complete list of the winners at the 2013 Metro FM Music Awards:

Best African Pop Album

Berita - Conquering Spirit

Best Compilation Album

Kalawa Jazmee 2012

- Pre Release

Best Produced Album


- Train of Love

Best Dance Album

Dj Pepsi

- Royal House

Best Female Album


- Ina Ethe

Best Group Album

The Muffinz

- Have you heard?

Best Hit Single


- Jealousy

Best Music Video

Jullian Gomes

- Love Song 28

Best Hip Hop Album


- Zakwe

Best Contemporary Jazz Album

Mbuso Khoza

- Zilindile

Best Kwaito Album


- Orientation

Best Male Album


- The Orientation

Best Newcomer


- For You

Best R&B Album

Bryce Anderson

- Ready for the World

Best Styled Artist/Group


- Train of Love

Best Gospel Album

Solly Mahlangu

- Mwamba Mwamba

Best Collaboration of the Year

Khuli Chana ft Notshi

- Tswa Daar

Best for the Song of the Year


- Tsa Mandebele

Best Digital Download

Arthur Mafokate

Lifetime Achievement Award

Sello Chicco Twala